International Festival in Poetry ‘Kritya 2012’ @ Thiruvananthapuram

Kritya 2012, which is an international festival in poetry, will be held at Vyloppilli Samskrithi Bhavan Thiruvananthapuram from 16 January 2012 to 18 January 2012. The international poetry festival is organized by Kritya, an international journal of poetry. Also it’s important to note that this Kritya 2012 is dedicated to Rabindranath Tagore, the famous Nobel laureate. It is expected that 50 Indian poets as well as 25 foreign poets will recite their poems during this 3 day festival. So without doubt we can say that Kritya 2012 is an ideal platform for creative minds from not only India but all over the world also. One of the highlight of Kritya-2012 is a poetic representation of Koodiyattom. We Malayalees are familiar with the name O. N. V. Kurup, the famous poet from Kerala. On 16 January 2012, the inaugural poetry reading will be made by O. N. V. Kurup. Apart from this, there will be an exhibition of paintings made by K. Jayakumar based on the theme Gitanjali. I know some of you may have a curiosity to know the programs associated in the 3 day international poetry festival of Kritya 2012.

Kritya 2012 on 16 January

Starting time 10:00 AM
•Opening speech by Kritya 2012 festival director, Rati Saxena
•Malayalam poetry visual presentation
•Lighting of the lamp
•Inaugural poetry reading by O. N. V. Kurup
•Special reading(11:00AM): Wolsan, Kidong Kim
•K. Jayakumar’s painting exhibition and Odveig Klive’s photo poetry exhibition: Inauguration by Samil Yang from Korea

Also note that there will be poetry reading session 1, 2 and 3 in Kritya 2012 on the first day, ie 16 January 2012. The poetry reading session 1 includes Francisco X Alarcon (USA) 12:00PM, Raquel Lanseros(Spain) 12:20PM and Khaleel Ur Rehman(India) 12:40PM respectively. But the poetry reading session 2 lists Sayumi Kamakura(Japan) 2:00PM, Francoise Roy(Canada) 2:20PM, Ilda Poshi(Albania) 2:40PM, Leeladhar Mandloi(India) 3:00PM and Gabriel Rosenstock(Ireland) 3:20PM while the poetry reading session 3 includes Harshad A Trivedi(India) 4:00PM, K. Satchidanandan(India) 4:20PM, Menna Elfin(UK) 4:40PM, K. Jayakumar(India) 5:00PM, Neela Padmanabhan(India) 5:20PM and Amir Or(Israel) 5:40PM. There will also be poetry films, from 6:20PM onwards. The poetry films include films that see poetry through lenses- Gitanjali Rao and a poetry film based on poetry -Kari Klyve Gulbrandsen and Odveig Klyve respectively.

Kritya 2012 on 17 January

Starting time 10:00AM
The poetry reading session 4 of Kritya 2012 lists Davide Rondoni(Itali) 10:00AM, Vishvanath Prasad Tiwari(India) 10:20AM and Francesca Cricelli(Brazil) 10:40AM while the poetry reading session 5 lists Zingonia Zingone(Italy) 11:15AM, Arif Raja(India) 11:35AM, Hanane Aad(Lebanon) 11:55AM, Bengt berg(Sweden) 12:15PM and kKavi Yakoob(India) 12:35PM respectively.

Kritya 2012 poetry reading session 6 / Malayalam poetry participants

Session A participants / Time 2:00PM onwards
•Anvar Ali
•Akkitham Achuthan Namboodiri
Session B participants / Time 2:00PM onwards
•Rafeek Ahmed
•D. Vinayachandran
•Savithri Rajeevan
•V.Madhusudanan Nair
Session C participants / Time 4:30PM onwards
•Rameshan Nair
•Indra Babu
•Narayana Kurup
•Chemmanam Chacko
•Vishnu Narayanan Namboodiri
Session D participants / Time 4:30PM onwards
•Rose Mary
•Anitha Thampi
•Balachandran Chullikad
•Mohanakrishnan Kalady
•Ezhacheri Ramachandran
Apart from this, on 17 January 2012, a poetry film named Kunjedathi by Prasad Nooranad will be shown from 7:00PM onwards.

Kritya 2012 on 18 January

Starting time 10:00AM
•Live poetry painting : B. D. Duttan
•Malayalam translation of Gitanjali: Lizzie Jacob

The poetry reading session 7 of Kritya 2012 lists Ashok Vajpeyi(India) 10:45 AM, Dannis Nurkse(USA) 11:10AM, Shaista Yusuf(India) 11:30AM, Manushyaputran(India) 11:50AM, Odveig Klyve(Norway) 12:10PM and Leon Felix Batista(Dominican Republic) 12:30PM. But the poetry reading session 8 lists Tarini Shubhadayini(India) 2:00PM, Anna Lombardo(Italy) 2:20PM, Sukumaran(India) 2:40PM, Rajendra Patel(India) 3:00PM and Shail Agarwal(USA) 3:20PM while the poetry reading session 9 and 10 includes Peter Waugh, Rati Saxena(4:00PM) and Open Mike(4:30PM) respectively.

Kritya 2012 valedictory function on 18 January 2012

The valedictory function of Kritya 2012 will be held on 18 January 2012 from 6:00PM onwards. The function will be presided over by Perumbadavam Sreedharan, president of Kerala Sahitya Akademi. Other famous personalities who will attend the valedictory function include Ashok Bajpeyi, K. C. Joseph(minister for cultural affairs), K. K. Gopalakrishnan and Ataol Behramoglu. Following this, there will be a koodiyattam(balivijayam) performance by Painkulam Rama Chakyar Smaraka Kalapeedom from 6:45PM onwards.

This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Personalities in news and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s